Seven areas of learning

On starting at the nursery, all children already have a certain amount of knowledge and skills. At Appletree Day Nursery, we build on this foundation by following the seven areas of learning. These are:
  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication, language and literacy
  • Mathematical development
  • Knowledge and understanding of the world
  • Physical development
  • Creative development
  • Welsh Language Development
More details on the seven areas of learning are available in the nursery brochure.
Contact us
areas of learning
Contact Appletree Day Nursery on 
01633 880 023

Experienced qualified nursery nurses in Redwick

Our experienced qualified staff cover all areas of the curriculum. Click on the files below to download our Estyn and CSSIW reports: 
Have a look at our base rooms

Babies, toddlers and pre-school children

The daily routines of the children depend on the age group and competencies of the children.
With the babies, we follow each child's own routine, as their needs and capabilities vary so much. We have a varied range of equipment and toys for stimulating play which helps the babies' development and encourages basic social skills; from learning to sit up through to taking their first steps.


As toddlers become more capable and acquire new motor skills, we encourage their growth with a whole range of varied activities; from organised creativity to physical activities. This is done by learning through play to build up confidence and self-esteem.

Contact us

Share by: